Welcome to the new look Schott Music London website!

+44 (0)20 7534 0710 -   We are open: Mon — Fri: 10:00 - 18:30 / Sat: 10:00 - 18:00
Michael Hirsch

Michael Hirsch

Country of origin: Germany
Birthday: March 2, 1958
Date of death: February 6, 2017

About Michael Hirsch

Michael Hirsch was born in Munich and has lived in Berlin since 1981. He has worked as a composer since 1976, with occasional interruptions for theater engagements. Hirsch’s compositions have been performed at international festivals such as the Donaueschingen Festival, the Witten Days for New Chamber Music, Musica Viva in Munich, Cigle de música del segle XX Barcelona; the MaerzMusik, Musik-Biennale, and Ultraschall festivals in Berlin; the Florida Festival of Electroacoustic Music, Seoul International Computer Music Festival, and the ECLAT new music festival in Stuttgart. Michael Hirsch’s works include chamber and vocal music, speech compositions, music for orchestra, and various types of opera and music theater. In May 2000, his full-length opera “Das stille Zimmer” [The Quiet Room] was premiered by the Bielefeld Opera, which also commissioned the work. In 2003, his short opera “La Didone abbandonata”was written for the Dresden Days for Contemporary Music. In 2005, the chamber opera “Eines schönen Tages” [One Fine Day] was commissioned and premiered by the opera in Hanover and the chamber opera “Die Klage des Pleberio”was premiered in Berlin. A further short opera “Celestina im Gespräch mit sich selbst”[Celestina in Conversation With Herself] was written for the Dresden Days for Contemporary Music in 2006, and in 2007 Hirsch composed for the Stuttgart Opera “Stationendrama”[Station Drama], which was performed in a moving subway train. 2008–2009 saw the premieres of the large vocal and symphonic work “Worte Steine”[Words Stones] for baritone, choir, and large orchestra, as well as the madrigal opera “Tragicomedia”, written for the Stuttgart Neue Vocalsolisten and premiered at the ECLAT festival in Stuttgart in 2009.

Michael Hirsch is honoured with the Elisabeth Schneider Composition Prize 2001 and the Busoni Composition Prize 2005 of the Academy of Arts in Berlin.
In 2008, he received a residence fellowship at the Villa Serpentara in Olevano Romano, Italy. Since 2002 his complete works are published by Edition Juliane Klein, Berlin.
www.editionjulianeklein.de and www.hirschmichael.de